Mr. DJ, Can I Make a Request?

“Good, old-fashioned ways keep hearts sweet, heads sane, hands busy.”
– Louisa May Alcott –

“mr. dj, can i make a request / puede ba ‘yung love song ko / mr. dj, para sa ‘kin ito / sana ay ok sa’yo / hihintayin ko na patugtugin mo / thank you ulit sa’yo.”

Me:  Hi, Lambert!
DJ:   Hi. Who is this?
Me:  It’s Del.
DJ:   What can I do for you, Belle?
Me:  (Great! Someone got my name wrong again. What’s new?) Can I make a request?
DJ:   Yeah, sure. What is it?
Me:  Shot at the Night by The Killers.*
DJ:   Ok, you got it.

“Saying ‘Hi’ to Belle, who’s tuned in right now. Your song is coming up in a few minutes,” said the DJ I had talked to on the phone moments earlier.  True to his word, he put on the song that I had asked him to play.  The soft beats of the song’s intro gently floated in the air and brought delight to my ears.

I have actually listened to this song and have even seen its video dozens of times, but because I don’t get to hear it being played on the radio often, I want to support it and get it on the airwaves by requesting for it. I think it’s a very good song and it deserves to be heard.  Besides, nothing still beats hearing a nice song on the radio after a hard day’s work.

After playing the song, the DJ then encouraged other people to make requests either by:

1)   Posting on the radio station’s FB or Twitter page
2)   Calling him up

I could have easily made my request online, but I decided to choose the good old-fashioned way of calling up the radio station.  We may already be in the age of modern technology, but there’s still something fun in requesting for a song that would simply make your day through the telephone:

You dial the station’s number and wait.

A busy tone.

You dial again, and if luck is on your side, the DJ picks up the phone on the first ring and talks to you. You’re not on-air, but you feel shy and nervous, and you wonder how much more shy or nervous you would be if you were even put on-air for everyone to hear!

Why would anyone make song requests and even prefer to call up a radio station when one can easily listen to music through various apps and rape the play button of YouTube?  I don’t know about you, but I enjoy it, just like I like doing other “old-fashioned” things: writing on journals; sending letters or cards by post; preferring CDs to MP3s, paper books over e-books; listening to regular radio instead of internet radio, among many other things.

I don’t shun technology; in fact, I have blogs, I often use my e-mails, I have tons of MP3s, and I have listened to radio stations from other corners of the world, but I just find doing these and other things the “old-fashioned” style once in a while, appealing. They carry a more personal touch, more charm, compared to the distant approach of modern technology.  I embrace technology, just not too much.

Am I too sentimental?  Maybe.  Nostalgic?  Perhaps.  What I do know is that the old school in me just likes kicking the butt of modern technology every now and then.

 

 

* Yes, I know.  It’s been more than a month since The Killers Manila concert and I am still on a post-concert euphoria.  What can I do?  I don’t get over concerts easily!

 

For more music related posts, visit the edge of sound.

Leave a Reply

