Painting Berlin

Ask anyone where they can see art and they will probably immediately answer “inside a gallery or a museum.”  The streets, the façades of buildings, or doors of houses won’t exactly be considered as suitable canvasses or places to exhibit art works.  But for many Berliners, they are precisely that.

I had the opportunity to visit Germany a few months ago.  I didn’t have any expectations of what the country would be like before flying there.  I knew little about it: World War II, the Cold War Era, and of course, beer and sausages, were the only associations I had.  Street art, which greatly fascinates me, was completely absent from that list.

Berlin, where I spent majority of my stay, apparently is home to world famous street art and/or graffiti art.  I got to know more about these images and the stories behind them, as well as the different techniques involved in the creation of these unique and engaging murals through a couple of walking tours of alternative Berlin.   One tour (Real Berlin Experience) presented the non-touristy side of the city, and the other focused more on street art.  The latter even included a workshop, which taught the participants the basics of street art.

The following images show the various examples of street art scattered in the city particularly in the areas of Prenzlauerberg, Kreutzberg, and Lichtenburg, where the Black Market Collective Gallery, the venue of the Street Art Workshop, was located.  Other art works were also photographed somewhere in Mitte and Friedrichshain during the times when I was out exploring the city by myself.

Mauer Park

 

Real Berlin Experience Tour

 

 

Street Art Tour 

 

Street Art Workshop

 

Exploring Berlin on my own

 

My Favorites

 

 

Note: I can no longer remember the details of the tours since this happened several months ago (and no one takes notes during tours, anyway!) so if you see any error or would like to add any information regarding the art work or the exact location of these pieces, feel free to comment. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

